Language setback and depressed all day

Had a setback this morning. My company offers yearly medical checks, which I like to take advantage of. For my first two medical checks, things went pretty smoothly, but that was not to be this year.

If I could go back in time and give my younger self some advice, it would be: Don’t try to live in a country where you don’t speak the language.

Start learning Japanese as soon as you can!

But now that I’m here, I have to try to build up some motivation. But how? I don’t really know

I’m straying off the topic. As I said — severe setback.

This year, I had a medical consultation with a doctor from the hospital that provides our annual checkups. She apologized for not being able to speak English. I apologised for not being able to speak Japanese.

That didn’t’ get either of us very far. She tried to simplify her questions for me, but I couldn’t understand much of anything of what she was saying.

The whole thing left me frustrated and depressed and angry at myself for my lack of language ability.

I mean, seriously, I’ve been here for more than two years, and still have trouble with the most basic of language tasks. And yet, I read about people who after two years can speak fluently or at least decently.

I have got to get my shit together…

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

